Even after closing this book, the words are still fresh on my skin. It’s a difficult story to swallow, one of ethnic people who were taught to despise other ethnic people because of the difference in language and shade. Edwidge Danticat, in her research, ventured out to the Massacre River which flows between Haiti and the Dominican Republic in an effort to touch the piece of earth that soiled the blood of thousands. Much like Junot Diaz’s The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, it is a fictional story that is based around historical facts.

It is through Amabelle, the narrator, that we bare witness to the fear, confusion, loss of love and utter loneliness during a time of running. While reading, I was surprised: for a moment, I thought I was reading a story about the Underground Railroad in America. However, I was elegantly reminded (and kept in check) through the use of both Creole and Spanish.

Ha. Jokes on me.

