28book-articleInlineA couple months ago when I went to the Bahamas with my best friend, we went on a short hike. Very short. But, nonetheless, it was a hike and we were surrounded by, of course, nature. Although it was a short experience, it felt beautiful. To be and feel so close to trees, flowers and animals that called that land home. That tiny experience sparked a tiny interest in the idea of hiking because, I realized, it would be cool and it would be a great environment to perfect the practice of meditation – something I have been heavily working on.

When I decided to read Wild, it gave a completely different view point. Of course, how could it not? The hike wasn’t a short one but rather one that reached over 2,000 trail miles. But this book has made me think of hiking in another light: that it is an adventure that should assist in our own human growth.

It was a great read and Cheryl Strayed‘s story is magnificent. She travelled alone on the Pacific Crest Trail pushed by the death of her mother, someone who seemed to be her best friend. Through the trail, though, she met people along the way and discovered many things about herself that she never knew. One, for example, that she can overcome fear. Two, the immaculate strength that a human being has. And three, that we, as people, only fail if we simply do not try.

After reading this book, my interest in hiking has only grown. And now, the motivation isn’t just because it is cool but because I want to challenge myself. I want to challenge, overcome and conquer during a journey that will allow me to find a different space of my own.

