41E4+fttDjL“If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.” – Haruki Murakami

At first, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle may lead you to believe that it is simply an ordinary book that is circled around the findings of a house cat. But that is far from the truth. Haruki Murakami appears to be the type of writer that digs deep into his imagination and simply writes. I found myself asking a question at the end of nearly every chapter, and for the majority of the book I wondered why I was being told about a certain event. I questioned its relevance and wanted, almost painfully, to know what was the point. That is what kept me reading until the very end: all the questions. I needed to know how it ended. But as I continued and got closer and closer to the finish line, I could only assume that Murakami’s intention was exactly that: to put the reader on a roller coaster that wouldn’t stop until the very last word. I never got to a point, while reading, that allowed me to predict the ending. There was also never a point that I was able to predict the next paragraph! But events throughout the book do not come together until you reach the very end.

It is a novel filled with imagination and weirdness. Murakami’s creative power is what has built his popularity in Japan and throughout the Western world.

I enjoyed its distinctiveness because, I am convinced, Murakami is one of a kind. But he does take a rather long time in getting to his point. For me, that was annoying.

After having read this book, I learned that people normally suggested for new Murakami readers to try his short stories first to gain an appreciation and solid foundation for his story telling. So although I didn’t adequately follow directions, I guess, I am still interested in his other works. Mainly because I am curious to see how far his imagination travels and I don’t necessarily want to cross out a writer because of one piece.

